There are many reasons you may need to delete a username from your WordPress site. WordPress allows you to create and delete users from your admin panel. Follow the below instructions to delete a username.
Delete User in WordPress
- Login to your WordPress admin panel.
- Go to “Users > All Users” section.
- Here you can view all registered users on your site.
- Hover the cursor over the username you want to delete and choose “Delete” link.
- If the user content any content on your site, WordPress will prompt you to confirm what action should be taken with the available posts.
- You can either choose to delete all the content along with the username or assign the content to another user on your site.
- If you are changing the author, contributor or administrator, make sure to assign the content to another user so that it will be available on the frontend.
- In case if you are deleting a registered guest author on your site and do not want to keep his / her content, you can simply select “Delete all the content” option.
- After choosing the option, click on “Confirm Deletion” button.
- You will see a success message like below after the deletion of user.
- When you delete a user, WordPress will completely delete the details from the database. There is no way to retrieve the deleted user and content, other than restoring from your backup.
- Sometimes, you have to delete the users for cleaning up or privacy reasons. By default, there are no options in WordPress to download all user details.